National University Teaching Awards

About the awards

In 2019, the National University Teaching Awards (NUTA) was initiated by a subcommittee of South African University Teachers (SAUT). NUTA is a collaboration with various stakeholders represented on the National Coordinating Committee (NCC) and the Minister of Higher Education as the patron to the awards.


Aims of the NUTA

Recognise innovative teaching and learning in higher education at a national level

Generate a cadre of academics who can provide inspiration and leadership in teaching and learning in their disciplines across and beyond the institution

Stimulate the growth of academics as university teachers

Celebrate the unique contextual responsiveness of academics that led to their transformed practice

Academics and teaching and learning specialists from all 26 higher education institutions (HEIs) are invited to submit portfolios. 

A maximum of five awards in total are made at the annual NUTA Gala event. Winners will receive a monetary prize of R50 000.00 each. Winners and those receiving commendations will receive their certificates at the event, taking place at the end of each year. 

The award winners will make a short presentation on their work at the event and their portfolios will be made available on this website.


Adjudicators are custodians of a process that is fair, and that appreciates the historical and contextual differences across the public higher education institutions.

The awards are not developmental, but the work of the adjudicators has a developmental role, that is, to provide feedback on the submissions to encourage extensive participation by all universities. In addition to identifying award winners, adjudicators further identify aspects that require attention and share these with the committee responsible for supporting or mentoring potential candidates.

Adjudication panel

Dr Rejoice Nsibande Chair (University of Pretoria)
Dr Noluthando Toni Co-Chair (Nelson Mandela University, USAf – TLSG)
Prof Lizette De Jager HELTASA Representative (CPUT)
Dr Rosaline Govender HELTASA Representative (DUT)
Prof Fayth Ruffin Previous Awardee (UKZN)
Dr Bongiwe Hobololo CHE Representative
Ms Fundiswa Kanise CHE Representative
Dr Karin Cattell-Holden Stellenbosch University
Dr Moeketsi Mosia Sol Plaatje University
Prof Allucia Shokane University of Zululand
Ms Anthea Adams Rhodes University
Ms Michelle Bucher Universities South Africa representative
Ms Mandisa Cakwe Department of Higher Education and Training representative
Mr Lukhanyo Daweti Student Representative (SAUS)

Previous award winners of the National Excellence in Teaching and Learning Awards

Find out more on the next call for applications